Referencing

Welcome Forums nodegoat user forum Referencing

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  SarahE 1 year ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

SarahE

Dear nodegoat users,

I’m a complete beginner in the world of databases. I work on women biologists and naturalists 1875-1940, and would like to look at the social and geographical spaces in which their work took place thanks to nodegoat. I have a couple of questions:

1. I had started recording these ladies’ publications in a type “Source” with
    Author;Title;Journal;Vol;Place;Year;Pages as object descriptions. As the corpus of sources grew, it became too time-consuming to fill in. Without dismissing the existing type, I created a new object description named “SourceCode” linked to “Type:source” and started entering making objects in Source that became shortcuts for referencing (using as a title “SocBotFran 1915”) : the result is that my sources and my SourceCodes are in the same type:

file:///home/sarah/Bureau/Capture%20du%202016-10-31%2011-41-37.png

file:///home/sarah/Bureau/Capture%20du%202016-10-31%2011-41-37.png

This is probably far from ideal and I wish I had created another type for “SourceCodes”. Is there any way to change this now without having to re-type everything manually?

2. I have tried using the “ver” button in the data entry but I can never see the actual reference once the data is entered. How does this work?

Sorry for my beginners’ questions and probably silly mistakes 🙂

Many thanks in advance,

Sarah

nodegoat
    Keymaster

This should be no problem at all! Two options that you could consider: